

THE JOSEPH & MARION KLIMA MEDAL

Approved by the Board of Directors, Nashville TN, May 31, 1999

Established in honor of late ARS President Emeritus Joe Klima and his wife Marion, the Klima Medal recognizes excellence in the field of rose education. Nominees for the award need not be members of the ARS, and nominations are requested from both ARS members and the international horticultural community. The Prizes & Awards Committee will select Klima Award recipients. Acts worthy of recognition include:

- Sustained volunteer performance by an individual over a decade or more of providing measurable high quality educational instruction and/or publication in the area of rose education.
- A single act of achievement by an individual within the field of rose education or rose development that has a measurable profound or major global impact.
- A significant single act of scientific development by an individual or team that provides a major advancement to the knowledge and evolutionary educational base of growing roses.
- Sustained lifetime achievement by an individual in devoting and focusing their educational talents and expertise to promoting "The Rose."

THE JOSEPH & MARION KLIMA MEDAL RECIPIENTS

2000	Dr. Tommy Cairns	2013	Phil Schorr
2001	Howard Walters	2014	No Award
2002	No Award	2015	Baldo Villegas
2003	Dr. John Dickman	2016	Marily Williams
2004	Dr. Lewis Shupe	2017	Jolene Adams
2005	Richard Streeper	2018	Jeff Wyckoff
2006	Dr. Gary Barlow	2019	No Award
2007	Luis Desamero	2020	Bruce Monroe
2008	No Award	2021	Claude Graves
2009	Robert B. Martin, Jr. & Andrew Plasz	2022	Don Swanson
2010	Ted Mills	2023	Dr. Mark Windham
2011	Louise Coleman		
2012	Steven Jones		